Home Page

Meet the Governors

Governor Register of Interests 2017/2018

Register of Governor attendance and position on Full Governing Body


Welcome to the Governors' section!

St Mary’s is a church-aided school so a number of the Governors are appointed by the church, either by the church in Chipping Norton or by the Diocese of Oxford. Known as Foundation Governors, they must outnumber other Governors by at least two. There are also representatives of parents and staff and of the local council. The Governors meet as a body six times per year and various sub-committees meet in addition to this to focus on specific matters.

Besides their management role the Governors are there to help if problems arise. Parents are welcome to contact the Governing Body and may do so through the school office. 

Governing body 2019-2020

Steve Nelson (Chair and LA Governor)

Yvonne Stallwood-Barnes (Headteacher)

Jo Graves (Foundation Governor)

Nigel Fawdry (Parent Governor)

James Kennedy (Ex-Officio)

Heather Knight (Foundation Governor)
Daniel Lawson (Foundation Governor)

Ian Pearman (Foundation Governor)

Jenny Williams (Foundation Governor)

Denise Povey (Foundation Governor)
Tim Woolcock (Foundation Governor)

Toby Artiss (Foundation Governor)

Paul Wickham (Parent Governor)

Joel Marks (Parent Governor)

Lisa Drinkwater (Governor)

Sarah Hollander (Staff Governor)

About the Governors

Steve Nelson is the Chair of the Governing Body and the Local authority Governor.  He has two children at St Mary's School.  Steve sits on the Resources Committee, Standards Committee and the External Relations Committee.


Yvonne Stallwood-Barnes is the Headteacher of St Mary's School.  Yvonne sits on the Resources Committee, Personnel Committee and the Standards Committee.


Jo Graves is joint Vice Chair of the Governing Body, a member of St Mary's Church and a Foundation Governor. She previously taught for twenty years at St Mary's, having finished in 2000, and her two daughters enjoyed their primary education years at the school.  Jo sits as a member of the Standards Committee, Personnel Committee and External Relations Committee.  Jo also co-ordinates the monitoring of English throughout the school.


Nigel Fawdry is the Jpoint Vice Chair and is a Parent Governor with family in the school.  Nigel is a Farmer.  He sits on the Resources Committee and on the External Relations Committee.


James Kennedy is the Vicar at St Mary's Church and is a Foundation Governor (Ex-Officio).   Having previously worked for ten years as a surgeon in Oxford, James is now vicar of Chipping Norton.  James sits on the Personnel Committee.


Heather Knight is a Foundation Governor, has two adult sons and has recently moved to the area. She is a retired Legal Secretary.  Heather sits on the Standards Committee and co-ordinates the monitoring of the foundation subjects throughout the school.


Daniel Lawson is a Foundation Governor. Daniel is a Maths Teacher at the Burford Secondary School.  Daniel sits on the Resources Committee and is the Health and Safety Governor

Ian Pearman is a Self-Employed Local Businessman and is a Foundation Governor.  Ian sits on the External Relations Committee.

Jenny Williams is a Foundation Governor and a retired secondary school special educational needs coordinator (SENCo) and mathematics teacher. 


Jenny is a member of the Standards Committee, Personnel Committee and the Trust.  Jenny is also the co-ordinator for monitoring Inclusion and Accessibility, More Able, G&T, Child Protection and Safeguarding.


Denise Povey is a Foundation Governor and sits on the Personnel Committee.


Tim Woolcock  is a Foundation Governor and sits on the Resources Committee.


Toby Artis is the Curate at St Mary's Church and is currently the RE link Governor for the school.


Paul Wickham is a Parent Governor with two children in school.  Paul is a Firefighter and he sits on the Resources Committee and the External Relations Committee.


Joel Marks is a Parent Governor with one child in school.  Joel works in IT and sits on the Resources Committee and on the Personnel Committee.


Lisa Drinkwater is the  Governor as the link between school and the Governing Body on External Relations Committee.  Lisa contributes to the input for the school PR on this committee.


Sarah Hollander is the Staff Governor and Teacher of year 5/6.  Sarah is the Upper Key Stage Two Teaching and Learning Manager also the English Co-ordinator for the whole school.